[review] Redken Clear Moisture Water Rush – farewell the frizz!

When I fall for a product, I fall hard. I am in LOVE with this conditioning treatment. It’s “a lightweight, rinse-out cream-gel that provides deep conditioning to leave hair ultra-light and moisturised with highly reflective shine”.

Redken is a salon brand in Australia, with a wide range of products for different hair types. My hair is kinda thick and wavy, with definite frizz and dryness issues. I use Matrix Biolage shampoo and conditioner, but was looking for a deep conditioning treatment to use once or twice a week. My split ends were driving me crazy and I needed to do something about them!

My hairdresser suggested this product a few months ago, and I was wary because often they just want to sell you a different product every time you visit. But she was onto something, and I can honestly say this is the best hair treatment I’ve ever come across, and I’ve used my fair share! My bathroom cupboard is a hair product graveyard, populated by half empty bottles of goop, gels and potions. But I’m onto my second tub of Water Rush (impressive!). I actually use this every second or third day, which I know might be a little excessive, but what can I say? I like my hair silky 🙂

As soon as I get into the shower, I shampoo and rinse my hair and then squeeze any excess water out. This is important, because it stops your treatment (which needs to soak in) from dripping down the drain! Then I just run a nice big dollop of the Water Rush through, and tie my hair up in a loose bun on top of my head. Then I go about the rest of my shower, and just as I’m about done and ready to step out, I rinse my hair. The result: gorgeously soft, silky tresses, and none of the hassle of waiting around outside the shower for a hair treatment to work!

The packaging is the only annoying thing about this product for me. The tub has a screw top lid, and it can be a bit tricky to use in the shower, especially if you’re trying to juggle not getting water in the tub, not dropping the lid, and putting the product on your hair all at the same time!  And I do go through this product quite quickly, as my hair is long and I need a good sized amount to do a proper job. However, the results I get are worth these minor annoyances.

No conditioning treatment will repair your split ends – the only cure for those is a pair of scissors. However, this will definitely help to prevent more from forming, and it will also give your locks some shine and bounce! I love, love, love it, and I’m hoping to try their shampoo and conditioner soon as well… as soon as I have enough cash to splurge!

Try and grab Water Rush when it’s on sale – the RRP is $35 AUD.

Leave a comment