[review] Primers – is price an indication of quality?

I always used to think, ‘Why use a primer? I’ll just use a moisturiser underneath my foundation!’ The extra step in my routine was something I really couldn’t be bothered with.

My friend, who at the time was completing a makeup course, gasped when I told her this. She said a good primer will make a huge difference to the way your makeup looks and stays throughout the day. It will provide an excellent smooth base for foundation, make your makeup look flawless and help it to stay on for hours longer than usual.

I own three primers: That Gal by Benefit ($53 AUD), Simply Ageless Serum Primer by Covergirl & Olay ($24.95 AUD), and Laura Mercier Foundation Primer Mineral ($65 AUD). I have to say they’re completely different, not only in price, but also in quality and finish.  (More pics to come).

Firstly, I have to admit something which, as a self confessed Benefit addict, is hard to do. That Gal is not all it’s cracked up to be. I want to love this primer, but… I’m left wanting more. It’s described as a ‘brightening face primer’, and comes in a glue stick-like tube. It’s a pretty pink colour and smells delicious, like raspberries! I find it does actually brighten my face a little bit – I can tell the difference when I wear it, I look more awake. But in terms of a primer and providing a good base for foundation, it sucks. I mean, it’s better than nothing, but when compared to the following products, it ranks a lowly 3rd place.

And here’s my problem – I just can’t decide between the Laura Mercier and the Covergirl & Olay primers! They’re good for different reasons. The Laura Mercier provides a heavy, very smooth matte base for foundation. Whether liquid or powder, foundation glides on and looks flawless, and I’m in love. But… it does contain silicone and for some people, this will be a turn off. I’ve heard horror stories from people who broke out the following day from using this. Thankfully my skin seems to have taken to it nicely, I’ve had no issues. I wouldn’t wear this primer alone though, as it looks a little fake without foundation over the top. Just my experience though!

Last is the Covergirl & Olay primer, which I love because it’s very light and evens out pores without looking too shiny. If I was having a ‘fresh face’ day, I would definitely use this primer alone, without foundation. It definitely doesn’t do as good a job of concealing the fine lines as the Laura Mercier primer though.

[verdict]

You’re gonna make me choose?? Ohhh okay. Well it seems that price does not always dictate quality. If you’re on a budget, go with Covergirl & Olay, as you’ll get a great primer for a reasonable price. But if you have some cash to splash, the Laura Mercier is definitely the winner – ding ding ding!

>>>Want a more in depth review on these primers? Let me know!

Leave a comment